La Isla Bonita – the gypsy version

I have never been a fan of Madonna, but when La Isla Bonita came out in the 80s, that was the first song I enjoyed by her.  There’s one more by her that caught my ear sometime in the past decade, but I can’t remember it right now.

Now there’s this version of La Isla Bonita with Gogol Bordello that moves me.

Gypsy music.  That is some of the stuff with which I grew up, thanks to my Serbian father.

I wish I could understand all the words they are saying.  My languages other than English are limited.  I will be so disappointed if I discover they are uttering sentiments I don’t like.

La Isla Bonita – the gypsy music version.

4 thoughts on “La Isla Bonita – the gypsy version

  1. Aw, that’s sad, Vincenzo, to have had to give up music you once loved. I can relate, though.

    I don’t know anything about Madonna’s lifestyle. I just didn’t like her music. When it was new, my sister was right into it, but it just annoyed me. She and I have always had nearly diametrically opposed musical tastes, though, and it sure shocks her when once in awhile I like one of “her” songs, such as the Madonna one.

    Then there’s me and my long-time love affair with the music of Led Zeppelin.

    When I became a Christian at the age of 20, over the ensuing few years I felt a need to rid my life of all music that did not outright praise God.

    I heard about some things in the personal lives of the members of Led Zeppelin, and I decided to let their music go.

    Then a few more years later, when I’d visit the family home of he who is now the ex, when I was alone in the house I’d sit in the living room with my ex-father-in-law’s Led Zeppelin CD’s cranked, feeling slightly guilty over the enjoyment it brought me.

    I am now at what I feel is a balance, music-wise – no longer bound with guilt over listening to that which soothes and moves me, regardless of genre, appreciating the music and not concerning myself with the private lives of the musicians.

Leave a Reply

