Adverbs are not necessarily necessary

(The following is from the blog of jmmcdowell).

“Adverbs are all over my drafts. And they serve a useful role there. Adverbs are my place holders as ideas rush out and my fingers can’t keep up with them on the keyboard. Later, when I’m editing, they remind me what I was thinking. “He reached clumsily for his keys” can be revised to “He fumbled for his keys.” Or, “She said gently” reminds me to make sure her dialogue makes that feeling clear.

From my 1/1/12 post: “A Writer’s New Year Confession – I Don’t Hate Adverbs (Or Adjectives)”

Leave a Reply

