Platitutdes don’t help much, if at all

I read Addie Zierman’s blog entry Spiritual Journey: The Mad Season.

Under her blog entry, I read a comment by a reader named Eric, which basically described how he hand-held a friend when that friend needed hand-holding.

To that, I said this:

“This gives another dimension to “taking the Lord’s name in vain”.

My goodness, “let go and let God” just doesn’t help when I’m in the depths of despair.

From my experience, love in action with elbow grease, driven by God’s love, gets better mileage than the best of intentions in even the most carefully worded platitudes.”

Leave a Reply

