Racism/Bullies

So many are half-breeds or quarter-breeds or other more dilute breeds. My dad is Serbian and my mom is as Canadian as they get, but what is Canadian? So much mixture in that, too.

Having grown up as a blonde haired, blue eyed girl with a Serbian surname that ignorami (my plural of ignoramus) loved to mispronounce, I was the target of bullying.

Really, though, there is nothing wrong with that mix, or with any other mix, in my opinion.

The bullies of the world will always find their lame reasons for bullying.

Dogs will be dogs.

(My comment on the blog of HarsH ReaLiTy)

5250_101307293213750_31968_n

My dad (little boy holding a book way up high in the back) with his family.
Serbia, circa 1940.

4 thoughts on “Racism/Bullies

  1. I can’t like this post, and I can’t understand the perpetrators of such nonsense. I was bullied before on the wednesday bus from school when I was 11 by other kids from town because … ??? I have no idea why in fact. This was not so bad, just pushing and name calling, and I had my own friends on that bus. Only twice when I was really alone it went out of hand, after which my mother went to talk to the other parents and things finally stopped.

  2. I like this post. Why? Because you were mistreated but didn’t let it destroy you. You seem to have recognized that you had nothing to be ashamed of and the ignorami were being stupid. Being a meek and timid child, I was also bullied but I firmly believe that, in the end, it made me a stronger and more understanding person. That’s just my opinion, of course, but we aren’t going to ask anybody else.

    • I really do like how you think, and how you write, AuthorJim.

      I’m reading a book now called “Quiet: The Power Of Introverts In A World That Can’t Stop Speaking”. I’m only a few pages into it, but already I see myself in it, including things to do with having been viewed as “different” in my childhood.

      Being different is just a matter of opinion, in my opinion.

      The past cannot destroy me. The present? Maybe a little. The future? Who knows how much of one there ever is.

      I am glad it has not destroyed you, either.

Leave a Reply

