Marriage and Pina Coladas

I was thinking about how “marriage” has always in essence meant, up until recent attempts by some to change the definition, a contract between a man and a woman.

If it’s not a man and a woman in the contract, it’s something else, but it ain’t marriage.

I think of it like this:

There are two necessary ingredients that make a pina colada:  pineapple and coconut.

If you mix pineapple and pineapple, it is not a pina colada.

If you mix coconut and coconut, it is not a pina colada.

Pineapple and pineapple may be suitable for those who have never met a coconut that moves them.

Likewise, coconut and coconut may be the perfect tonic for one who prefers to avoid pineapple for whatever reason.

People are free to enjoy whichever drink refreshes them, but please don’t call coconut and coconut or pineapple and pineapple a “pina colada”, because without the two necessary ingredients for pina colada, it’s not a pina colada.

pina colada
Cheers!

5 thoughts on “Marriage and Pina Coladas

  1. But what about rum?! We need rum!

    I recently saw some item one of those facebook images in a pre-made sort of posters which said something about “now we see that marriage is all about sex and not spirituality– which the church will not want to mention.”

    I almost laughed and thought, “To what church do you refer? It has always been about sex– AND spirituality!”

    Anyway, I wish I has some rum.

  2. I have never heard it put this way before and I like it!! Very, very good point. I guess I can close my eyes to same sex commitments but don’t call it marriage. To do so is degrading to the honorable and sanctified traditional bond of true marriage.

  3. You are a wise woman. You see, all that stress and hassle you went through left you with a deep and unique wisdom that you can and are blessing others with, Christine. Yes, the world is morphing all that we used to take for granted into one big mess. Who the hell knows what’s what anymore huh!!! I just stick on my blinkers and focus on my little world – the rest, well unless they wanna come into my lil world and play, I guess they can keep mixing pineapple and pineapple or banana and banana!

    Good stuff, Christine!

    Richard from HSW! 🙂

  4. I stumbled across an article that reminded me of this entry. I want to share the link in case it is of interest to anyone who has stumbled across my blog. It is called “I Am Homophobic (And You Should Be Too)” by Henry Makow, Ph.D., and the intro to it states:

    The Illuminati are replacing heterosexual norms with gay norms in order to undermine the gender identity of 98% of the population. So far, society has been blind to this insidious attack which ranges from relentless psychological warfare in the mass media, to “grooming” in public schools, to actual physical overtures. – See more at: http://www.henrymakow.com/021101.html#sthash.f6CFYpIH.dpuf

    http://www.henrymakow.com/021101.html

    In that article, there was mention of a secular organization that might further be of interest to the above-mentioned readers, called NARTH, which stands for National Association for Research & Therapy of Homosexuality, and is a self described “non-profit, educational organization dedicated to affirming a complementary, male-female model of gender and sexuality”.

Leave a Reply

