A Beautiful Spirit

Yes, I do feel within me that I am a beautiful spirit, and thank you for saying so.

I don’t say that in any conceited way, but just in a way that appreciates that I am worthy of goodness just as much as anyone else.

I used to be down on myself when I lived with the abuser. I have learned that it was all lies and that one must not be down on themselves. The world gives us enough bombardment from the outside. I have no desire to destroy my own walls from within.

I get down, really really down, and sometimes wish to die, but never do I ever put myself down.

Are you, too, a beautiful spirit?

I think we who have been through much and have survived – and who hasn’t? – who continue to breathe and to love others, are like the Japanese art of Kintsugi, where the damage to broken vessels is not concealed, but rather it is magnified by filling the cracks with gold, beautifying them in spite of – or because of – the blows they have received.

We didn’t ask for pain, but we got it, and we will not be rendered useless because of it.  May we instead be beautified within via the gold hammered into our wounds.

New_Kintsugi

5 thoughts on “A Beautiful Spirit

  1. Pingback: Losing Hand-Written Work | Holy Sheepdip!

  2. What you just wrote in this post is ample evidence that you do have a beautiful spirit. Thank you for expressing it so beautifully. I could have written pages and never gotten said it so clearly as you have. Your message is true and I hope you never forget to follow it. What wonderful progress you have made! Keep it up!!

  3. Pingback: CONCEITED by Gunnar Jones | hastywords

Leave a Reply

