When Similar Stuff Happens

Another of those weird but cool things happened to me today. There’s got to be a name for it, and I’m calling it “intuation” unless another word can be found.

Today, out of the blue, this song popped into my head, “Don’t know much about history, don’t know much biology…”

I looked up the lyrics and found that it’s called “Wonderful World” by Sam Cooke.

I wondered if I could find the scene from the movie “Witness” I had seen decades ago…

Aha! There it was on YouTube — that one I posted above in this blog. (I said that mostly for the people who are receiving notifications by email).

I looked up the lyrics and guitar chords, as I do for a lot of songs that pop into my head. It seemed simple enough for my limited skills, so I printed it out.

Later, my almost-16-year-old daughter, who I’ll call “S”, was in the basement with a guitar. She started learning the instrument in school a few days ago and is gung-ho about it, practicing every minute she can get.

I brought my two latest printouts into the basement and lay them on the bed. Idly chatting with S, I strummed the chords for “Dance Me To The End Of Love”.

I glanced at the 3-ring binder that was open to the song, “Wonderful World”.

I didn’t remember putting that song into a binder.

Confused, I said, “S, is this yours?”

“Yeah, Mom. It’s one of the songs we’re learning at school.”

I picked up my own two papers I’d had on the bed and looked to make sure my copy of that same song was really there.

“No way,” I said. “Look at THIS! I just printed this out today. I’d not even thought of this song in YEARS and now here you’ve got it??? Woah, that’s SO weird.”

We weirded out over it for awhile, and then we played and sang it together.

I love it when intuation takes place. I intuate a lot.

Related posts:
Thinking About Something And Then It Happens

3 thoughts on “When Similar Stuff Happens

  1. Pingback: A Synchronous Moment | Holy Sheepdip!

Leave a comment